All News & Updates

Players Choice Awards honor on-field and community leadership in Marvin Miller Man of the Year voting

NEW YORK, Oct. 12 – The players on each club who received the most votes from their peers for the 2018 Marvin Miller Man of the Year in recent balloting will receive a grant to a charity of his choice from the Major League Baseball Players Trust.

The overall winner of the prestigious award, named for the founding executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association, will receive a grant for $50,000.  Grants of $10,000 and $5,000 go to the players who place second and third, and the leading vote recipient from each club (listed below) will receive a $2,500 grant.

Additionally, the 2018 Player of the Year will receive a $50,000 grant and the eight league-wide Players Choice Award winners will receive grants of $20,000 each.  Runners-up in all categories receive $10,000 and third-place finishers $5,000.

All told, the 2018 Players Choice Award winners will designate charities to receive grants totaling  nearly $500,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on- and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $4 million to charities around the world.

Through their collective charity, players pool resources to support efforts that provide hope, sustainability and lasting change around the world, especially in the many places players call home. Players direct grants to the wide range of causes they support – from disaster relief to health and human services to growing baseball in the United States and abroad.

The three finalists for each of the 10 Players Choice Awards will be announced in the coming weeks and the winners will be announced on the evening of Nov. 27.

The Players Choice Awards are held in high regard by players because the winners are selected in balloting among their peers.  In addition to the Marvin Miller Man of the Year and the overall Player of the Year, players in each league choose their outstanding players, pitchers and rookies as well as a comeback player.

For the Marvin Miller Award, players are asked to vote for the player they “most respect based on his leadership on the field and in the community.” Recent winners include Anthony Rizzo (2017), Curtis Granderson (2009, 2016), Adam Jones (2015), Clayton Kershaw (2014) and Mariano Rivera (2013).

Listed below are the players who received the most Marvin Miller award votes on their respective teams (based on 2018 Opening Day rosters) during balloting conducted by the accounting firm KPMG on Sept. 18-19:

Paul Goldschmidt Arizona Diamondbacks
Freddie Freeman Atlanta Braves
Adam Jones Baltimore Orioles
Mookie Betts Boston Red Sox
Anthony Rizzo Chicago Cubs
Tim Anderson Chicago White Sox
Joey Votto Cincinnati Reds
Francisco Lindor Cleveland Indians
Ian Desmond Colorado Rockies
Víctor Martínez Detroit Tigers
Martín Prado Miami Marlins
Jose Altuve Houston Astros
Salvador Pérez Kansas City Royals
Mike Trout Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Clayton Kershaw Los Angeles Dodgers
Corey Knebel Milwaukee Brewers
Joe Mauer Minnesota Twins
José Reyes New York Mets
CC Sabathia New York Yankees
Chad Pinder Oakland Athletics
Rhys Hoskins Philadelphia Phillies
Jameson Taillon Pittsburgh Pirates
Yadier Molina St. Louis Cardinals
Clayton Richard San Diego Padres
Andrew McCutchen/Buster Posey San Francisco Giants
Nelson Cruz Seattle Mariners
Chris Archer Tampa Bay Rays
Adrian Beltré Texas Rangers
Curtis Granderson Toronto Blue Jays
Ryan Zimmerman Washington Nationals

Click here for a brief overview of the community activity for each of the 30 Marvin Miller Man of the Year leading vote recipients on each club.