All News & Updates

Players Choice Awards to be annnounced Monday, November 3 at 8 PM EST on MLB Network


For the fourth consecutive year, Players Choice Award winners will be announced exclusively on MLB Network, Monday, November 3, from 8 PM – 9 PM EST.

Vying for top honor as 2014 Player of the Year are Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins and Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

The Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, presented by PlayStation, makers of the popular MLB The Show video game franchise, benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves.

Players Choice Awards have been presented each year since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league.  Balloting for the 2014 Players Choice Awards was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on September 16, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the MLBPA’s first executive director and given annually to the player who inspires others through his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Kershaw, Adam LaRoche of the Washington Nationals and Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs.  Current MLBPA Executive Director, Tony Clark, will present the Man of the Year award to the winner during the broadcast.  LaRoche focuses much of his off-field attention on the Wounded Warrior Project at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, where he regularly visits vets during their rehab and recovery. First inspired by their relationship with a malnourished, HIV-infected girl in Lusaka, Zambia named Hope, Clayton and his wife, Ellen, began Kershaw’s Challenge in 2011. The Challenge is to use whatever you have been blessed with – talent, passion or purpose – to give back to others. A survivor of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma for which he underwent six months of chemotherapy as a Class A player in 2008, Rizzo founded the Anthony Rizzo Family Foundation to support cancer research and families fighting the disease.

2014 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust.   The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement.  Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3.5 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please click here.

Majestic Athletic is a proud sponsor of the 2014 Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, hosted by Fran Charles, Al Leiter and Heidi Watney.

MLB Network’s local channel listings are available at

Below please find the complete list of 2014 Players Choice Awards finalists.

2014 Players Choice Awards Finalists:

American League:
Outstanding Player: Jose Altuve (Houston), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Mike Trout (LA Angels of Anaheim)
Outstanding Pitcher: Felix Hernandez (Seattle), Corey Kluber (Cleveland), Chris Sale (Chicago White Sox)
Outstanding Rookie: Jose Abreu (Chicago White Sox), Danny Santana (Minnesota), Matt Shoemaker (Angels)
Comeback Player: J.D. Martinez (Detroit), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Chris Young (Seattle)

National League:
Outstanding Player: Josh Harrison (Pittsburgh), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Giancarlo Stanton (Miami)
Outstanding Pitcher: Johnny Cueto (Cincinnati), Clayton Kershaw (LA Dodgers), Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)
Outstanding Rookie: Jacob deGrom (NY Mets), Billy Hamilton (Cincinnati), David Peralta (Arizona)
Comeback Player: Tim Hudson (San Francisco), Casey McGehee (Miami), Edinson Volquez (Pittsburgh)

Either League:
Player of Year: Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles), Giancarlo Stanton (Miami), Mike Trout (LA Angels of Anaheim)
Man of the Year: Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles), Adam Laroche (Washington), Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs)

For the complete list of previous winners, please click here: