All News & Updates

Major Leaguers Announce Finalists for 25th Annual Players Choice Awards

Major League Baseball Players Announce Finalists for 25th Annual Players Choice Awards

Altuve, Betts & Ortiz finalists for Player of the Year

  • Winners to be announced exclusively on MLB Network, Wednesday, November 9 & presented by MLB® The Show ™
  • Curtis Granderson, Anthony Rizzo and Justin Turner in running for Marvin Miller Man of the Year


New York, NY, Friday, September 30, 2016 – Major League baseball players today announced the finalists for their highest honors – the Players Choice Awards – in which the players themselves recognize excellence on and off the field.  Vying for top honor as 2016 Player of the Year are Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, Mookie Betts and David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox.

For the sixth consecutive year, Players Choice Award winners will be announced exclusively on MLB Network on Wednesday, November 9, from 8 PM – 9:30 PM ET.  MLB Network’s local channel listings are available at

The Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, presented by MLB® The Show ™, benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves.  2016 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. [Note: The eight League winners receive $20,000 grants each and the two overall winners receive $50,000 grants each.)

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the MLBPA’s first executive director and given annually to the player who inspires others through his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Curtis Granderson of the New York Mets, Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs and Justin Turner of the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Through his Grand Kids Foundation, Granderson inspires and encourages positive youth development via education, physical fitness and nutrition – providing tools and resources for educational and societal advancement. Rizzo founded the Rizzo Family Foundation to raise money for cancer research and to provide support to children and their families battling the disease. Turner lends his time and support to a number of causes, including the Los Angeles Dream Center and its annual Back to School Bash that distributed 2,000 backpacks to LA youth in need.

Now in its 25th year, the Players Choice Awards program has been honoring the game’s best-of-the- best since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league.  Balloting for the 2016 Players Choice Awards was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on September 20, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement.  The Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $4 million to charities around the world.

 For list of all-time winners click here.

Majestic Athletic is a proud sponsor of the 2016 Players Choice Awards on MLB Network.


Below please find the complete list of 2016 Players Choice Awards finalists.


2016 Players Choice Awards Finalists:

American League:

Outstanding Player:  Jose Altuve (Houston Astros); Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox); Mike Trout (LA Angels)

Outstanding Pitcher: Zach Britton (Baltimore Orioles); Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians); Rick Porcello (Boston Red Sox)

Outstanding Rookie: Michael Fulmer (Detroit Tigers); Tyler Naquin (Cleveland Indians); Gary Sanchez (NY Yankees)

Comeback Player: Yu Darvish (Texas Rangers); Ian Desmond (Texas Rangers); Mark Trumbo (Baltimore Orioles)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies); Kris Bryant (Chicago Cubs); Daniel Murphy (Washington Nationals)

Outstanding Pitcher: Kyle Hendricks (Chicago Cubs); Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers); Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals)

Outstanding Rookie: Aledmys Diaz (St. Louis Cardinals); Corey Seager (Los Angeles Dodgers); Trea Turner (Washington Nationals)

Comeback Player: Jose Fernandez (Miami Marlins); Rich Hill (Los Angeles Dodgers); Jean Segura (Arizona Diamondbacks)


Either League:

Player of Year: Jose Altuve (Houston Astros); Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox); David Ortiz (Boston Red Sox)

Man of the Year: Curtis Granderson (NY Mets); Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs); Justin Turner (Los Angeles Dodgers)